Thank You

 

(For Kathleen)

 

Thank you,

Friend,

Who is also the dear mother of my husband,

For coming here today.

Here to Virginia

From New Hampshire

On your way to Washington state

On your hours-long layover.

 

Thank you

For taking a taxi to get to us,

Then taking my children from school

And letting them run/crawl

Barefoot

All over a playground

In the warm November color and sun.

 

Thank you

For coming here

And telling me I’m so good at this.

This thing I fail at every day.

Motherhood.

 

Thank you

For coming here

And sipping instant coffee with me

In my own living room

(both too tired to brew a cup, oh my!)

And telling me the truth that you are living out –

Telling me to take my own medicine.

Giving me permission to cry

About the gain God has given us

That feels so much like a loss to me.

 

Thank you.

 

 

 

 

November 15, 2016

Leave a Reply

